Commissioner of Transport

Last Updated on: July 12, 2023


The Commissionarate  of Transport is established  in accordance with the provision of the Section 213(1) of the M.V Act, 1988. Originally, Transport Department was under the care and control of Home Department, Govt. of Assam till the last part of 1950. The affairs of Transport Department were looked after by an officer of the rank of Inspector General of Police during the relevant period of time.
With the passage of time and under the changed circumstances with a view to cope with the necessities, a separate department under the name and style " Transport Department, Govt. of Assam" was introduced at the beginning of the year 1951. Transport Department was headed by a Secretary of the Govt. of Assam at the relevant period of time. Thereafter, with the rolling of years, the position of Administrative Head has been occupied by Commissioner & Secretary and now at present by a Principal Secretary. The Head of the department under the Govt. of Assam, Transport Department is the "Commissioner of Transport", Assam.
The Transport Department functions at the Govt. level for regulation of administrative and Policy matters pertaining to Transport department, Minister, Transport Department, Assam is the Head at the Legislative Level.


Dr. Robin Kumar, IPS,
Commissioner of Transport, Assam,
Jawahar Nagar, Paribahan Bhawan, Khanapara,






Universal Accessibility Menu